Officials in New York City are opening quarantine checkpoints at undisclosed “key entry points” in an attempt to slow the spread of Covid-19.

Mayor Bill de Blasio made the announcement about the checkpoints on August 5. The checkpoints are meant to ensure that travelers follow quarantine requirements to self-isolate for two weeks upon entry into the city if they have visited 35 designated states with high transmission rates.

The fine for those who decline to fill out a travel form is $2000. Violation of quarantine can result in a $10,000 fine. Involuntary quarantine is also possible for violators.

Truckers are considered “essential workers” and are not subject to the same quarantine requirements as non-essential workers. According to a news release from de Blasio’s office, essential workers who are subject to the state’s quarantine requirements must:

Self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19 and self-isolate and seek medical advice or testing if they show symptoms of COVID-19
Limit their contacts with other persons for fourteen (14) days.
If staying longer than 36 hours in New York state, test for COVID-19 as soon as possible upon arrival (within 24 hours).

The 35 states and territories on NYC’s travel advisory list as of August 5 are below.

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin